Easy DIY Update: Revamped China Cabinet

China_Cabinet_UpdateAs Spring is approaching, (seriously it is taking it’s sweet time) I’ve been slowly organizing, cleaning and doing some minor updating to my home’s decor. My latest DIY was to revamp my China cabinet. Now if it wasn’t a family heirloom and antique I would be all about painting it and adding wallpaper to the back wall. But because I can’t bring myself to change anything about this piece permanently, I decided to change the back wall of the cabinet by adding a fabric backdrop. Here’s the step by step:

Supplies needed:

-Cardboard

-Fabric

-Spray adhesive

-Masking or scotch tape

-Measuring tape

-Scissors, utility knife, other tools may be needed to remove shelving depending on your cabinet

Other more permanent possibilities for changing the backdrop in your cabinets could be wallpaper, contact paper or paint. The second best thing about this project is I can change up the fabric now whenever I feel like updating my dining room. The first best thing is that I finally  got around to cleaning out and organizing that cabinet! Happy Spring cleaning everyone!

Leave a comment